Ah, Family!

This weekend was the Husband’s family reunion.  Normally we skip this event, except for the year that it’s our branch’s turn to host.  Then there’s no way he can get out of it.  The extra bonus is seeing our Niece and Nephew and their kids.  And their parents, although I don’t think their parents like us very much.  (Based on their reaction to the multiple invitations to visit our home.)  They stay with my SIL, because she has room and can keep her mouth shut when they say something she disagrees with.  (Not so much the husband.)

When we host the reunion, we do so at my SIL’s church.  She has taken over the matriarch role since my husband’s parents passed and she is the keeper of all family history.  She knows relatives names to 1,000 places.  And their birthdays and how they are sort of related to us but not really.  We all decided to meet at the church at 9:30 am to get things ready.  Dinner was to be served at 1:00, but people could be expected to start showing up around 11:30, since they were coming from all around the state.   When we got there at 9:30, there was already a crowd working on setup (who knows what time they got there) so every thing was pretty much done by 10:00.  (Many hands and all.)  That made for a fun couple of hours sitting around.  But it was nice to have more time to visit with the people we care about.

We ate some good farm food and ate some yummy deserts and had the silent auction to raise money for the next reunion.  Everything was going as usual.   Until one of the shirt-tail cousins came in the door carrying her two year old and calling her sister a C-U-Next-Tuesday at the top of her lungs.  Apparently, there is some strife between the two over a rental property and a lawsuit.  Just a little.  So sisters are screaming at each other and one is spouting profanity at the other in the church community room.  Their mother seemed oblivious to the situation, so I felt free to butt in and ask them to please have some respect.  Believe me, I used my grown-up voice.  And when Cussy McCusserston decided she was taking her toys and going home, I helped her carry them out.

You do not disrespect my SIL in her place of worship.

The (obviously) saner of the two sisters sort of apologized and helped us start cleaning up, because people had somehow disappeared while we were “working things out.”   Which was okay by us.  We got out of there about an hour earlier than planned.

So, aside from that, and Husband leaving to “let the dog out” for over an hour while I stayed behind with his family, the family reunion was a success.  We won’t have to go for another three or four years and by that time who knows how much family there will be to reunite?  Many of us would like to start having reunions of just the bloodline of Husbands grandparents.  I’m all about that.  And then we could have it on a Saturday!  And maybe Husband would want to go.

**********************************************

A few other things:

  1. Went to the oncologist yesterday and per their scale I have lost five pounds since my visit to my regular doctor on the 7th.  I would have liked it to be more, however, I am trying to not get hung up on numbers and just focus on the health.  I don’t have a scale at home and probably won’t be weighed again until October.
  2. Still keeping up with the splashing class.  The instructor was out last week and three of us even met at the pool to do some working out while she was gone.   Most of the friends I’ve started with have quit going but I made a new friend in the one who hasn’t.
  3. I am not even close to menopause.  Sigh.
  4. My reduction of sugar in my diet is going well.  Not perfectly by any means, but enough that my beloved Caramel Macchiato was too sweet this week.  I’ve added Salmon to my diet about once a week (even though it’s super expensive).
  5. I’m remembering how good it feels to eat well and move more.  (Why do I always have to remember that?)
  6. I did not take a single nap this weekend!  While I love my naps, I don’t like feeling like I have to have one to get through the day.  And I prefer that reason that I’m not taking one be that I’m busy doing something active.
  7. I bought a skort.  I bought it to wear to the reunion because it was hotter than the surface of the sun that day and I decided I didn’t care how ugly my legs were, I was going to go for comfort.  I don’t really know what I looked like but I looked at least as good as anyone there and I felt cute so that’s all that matters.

Goals:

  1. Incorporate some movement into my days when I don’t have class.
  2. Cook more.
  3. Get more sleep. I’ve taken to staying up too late again.  I need sleep.  Sleep is good.
2 thoughts on “Ah, Family!

  1. Re: Sisters: I do not like that word. Civilized people would not use it especially to a sister.

    Skort fan. Where did you get yours? I saw some very cool ones at Kohl’s online but it was too complicated for me to figure out how to buy one…

    Your swimmy class sounds like awesome fun, especially on these hot days.

    Eagerly anticipating our upcoming play dates, Missie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

